RSS Feed

Luminaries

Posted on

In trying to think of a cheap, but romantic entry way into our reception area, I came upon these Monogram Luminaries over at Projectwedding.com. Here is my finished project. Feel free to read the rest of the blog for step-by-step instructions.

Step 1:First I printed my the L in the size and script that I liked best: Edwardian script. I then cut the template paper so that it would slide into my white paper bag centered and at the desired height.

Step 2: Slide the template into the paper bag. Check to make sure it is centered. You will want the template to be toward the upper half of the paper bag to provide a nice contrast in light. If it is too low, the L might not show up as well.

Step 3: BY FAR the most difficult step is tracing the template. If you are going to repeat this project and want to save time, I would blow up this picture and note my exact tracings. You cannot cut out the whole L shape out. Many of the loops in the L need to remain connected to the bag so that it remains looking like an L.

Step 4: Now it is time to cut. You will need an exacto knife and something hard to slide into the middle of the paper bag so that you only cut through one layer.

It took me a couple tries, but they turned out great! The best part: It only cost approximately $4 for all my luminaries!

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Jess,

    These are so elegant looking – what a simple and beautiful way to decorate!

    Barb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

